Monopoly

FullFullFullFullFullHalfemptyempty

Genre: Board Game

Publisher: Parker Brothers

Total time played: 1.5 Hours

Short review: A very accurate video game depiction of the most popular board game of all time.


Interesting links related to Monopoly


I have always enjoyed Monopoly for some reason.  I have several versions of the actual board game including the original, The Simpson’s, Nintendo, Monopoly with Credit Cards and a custom game based on businesses in my hometown.  But, that being said, I have probably only played 2 times in the past 10 years.  Most people don’t just like to sit down and play Monopoly.  I did convince some other gamers to play NES Monopoly last year though (I won).

IMG_7774

I decided to play NES Monopoly alone and play against only one computer opponent, Gertrude.  When you start the game there are a lot of options, you can choose how much money to start with, you can give players property before the game starts and set other rules including a time limit.  I chose to just play by the normal rules.  I was upset that the one rule I wanted was not available, for all of the money that must be paid to the bank for income tax or chance and community chest cards be given to the player who lands on Free Parking.

The best part about this game is that it is very fast paced.  The computer never thinks about what to do next, it just very quickly roles, moves and buys property.  My one issue is that at any time you can pause the game and try to trade property with another player.  About every 3rd move the computer would initiate a trade.  The trade was always for you to give a piece of property to the computer player and get nothing in return.  I tried a few times to make the trade worth my while but I ended up never once trading with the computer.

I got lucky to win the game by landing on all 3 red properties early on and putting 4 houses on each.  It didn’t take too long for the computer to land on the first property and then unfortunately role a 3 and land on the 3rd property on the next role.  Those two roles was all it took for me to win the game.

If you like Monopoly and don’t have anyone to play with this is actually a great game.  It takes no time to set up and breakdown, the computer players don’t get mad if you win and it moves much faster than playing actual Monopoly.  But, all that aside, 99% of the time I am not in the mood for Monopoly and would rather play a video game not a video game representation of a board game.

 

One thought on “Monopoly

Leave a comment