WWF Wrestlemania Challenge

FullFullFullemptyemptyemptyemptyempty

Genre: Wrestling

Publisher: LJN

Total time played: 1 hour

Short review: Another licensed turd from LJN.  Doesn’t hold a candle to the much more polished Pro Wrestling.


Interesting links related to WWF Wrestlemania Challenge 


 

This game was released 3 years after Pro Wrestling and every part of the game is worse than Pro Wrestling.  I thought this would be a topical game to play as Hulk Hogan is back in the news and Rowdy Roddy Piper died today (he is not in this game).

When you start the game you are given the choice of 1 or 2 players co-op (tag team) or head to head.  I chose 1 player mode with no tag-team matches.  You get to choose between 8 WWF Superstars or you can play as yourself.  I chose to play as myself.  But, “yourself” is just a white male, you don’t even get to input your name.  Luckily for me, I am a white male.

Each character has a distinct enough look and their theme music plays during the match.  One thing I never noticed was that Macho Man’s music is the song that is always played at graduation ceremonies which makes no sense to me, is he taking me to school?

The gameplay is not nearly as involved or fun as Pro Wrestling.  The moves are as follows:

A – punch or kick

B – body slam or atomic drop

A+B – drop kick

A while opponent on ground – leg drop

B while opponent on ground – Pin

You can also throw your opponent out of the ring or jump from the turnbuckle but I never successfully did either of these things.  I basically played every match the exact same, punch, atomic drop, body slam, leg drop, pin.

The one thing I appreciate about this game over Pro Wrestling is that your fighter and your opponent have life bars so you know when to attempt to pin them.

It amazes me that even though real wrestlers are featured and their official theme music is used the game still has weaker music and characters than Pro Wrestling.  There just isn’t enough differentiation between characters to make this a fun game.

Look at the cover art for the game.  The four players around the edge of the box art have all died and Hulk Hogan has been banished from the WWF for his racist remarks.

Below you will find a list of the 8 opponents you face during the game.  Only 3 of them are still alive.

Brutus The Barber Beefcake – alive and kicking (as of 07/31/2015)

Ravishing Rick Rude – died 04/20/1999, age 40

Big Boss Man – died 09/22/2004, age 41

Hacksaw Jim Duggan – Alive and kicking (as of 07/31/2015)

Andre The Giant – died 01/27/1993, age 46

Macho Man Randy Savage (his name is Macho King in this game for some reason) – died 05/20/2011, age 58

Hulk Hogan – alive and kicking (as of 07/31/2015) but banned from the WWF after making racist remarks.

Ultimate Warrior – died 04/08/2014, age 54

This game is not awful but it is not great.  It doesn’t feel polished and even though it features all the wrestlers you know and love I promise you will have more fun playing Pro Wrestling.

3 thoughts on “WWF Wrestlemania Challenge

  1. For whatever it’s worth, this is probably the best WWF game on the NES. The 8-bit renditions of the wrestler themes are pretty terrific as well, even though they have to make up themes for a few guys like Andre. Not really surprising as I thin Rare developed the game and Rare games always have great soundtracks. They actually managed to get some of the signature moves in as well. Rick Rude actually does the Rude Awakening!!

    1. I think if I had played this game when I was younger I would have loved it. I watched Wrestling as a kid and all of my favorites were in this game. But, I haven’t watched wrestling in probably 20 years and had forgotten so much about the characters, moves and music that I just didn’t really get into it. I guess that is why I like Pro Wrestling, it was completely original so there were no prior knowledge needed to enjoy, plus, the gameplay of Pro Wrestling is much better IMO. I will agree that the music was very strong in the the game, and you are right, Rare usually has better than average music.

Leave a Reply

