Darkwing Duck

FullFullFullFullFullHalfemptyempty

Genre: Platform

Publisher: Capcom

Total time played: 2.5 Hours

Short review: A much harder slightly less fun clone of Duck Tales.


Interesting links related to Darkwing Duck


Let’s. Get. Dangerous.

That single line is the only thing I remember from Darkwing Duck.  I was obsessed with TMNT and Duck Tales and Darkwing Duck seems like a mash up of both of those things but I just never watched it.

Duck Tales is still one of my favorite NES games of all time and this is clearly a clone of that game.  The style of gameplay is very similar, the controls are similar, the music and sound effects are similar but Darkwing Duck falls short in every single category.  Well, every category except one; it is much harder that Duck Tales.

I think that if I played it through 3 or 4 times I could eventually get to where I could beat it on a single continue.  But, since this was my first attempt it took me a while.  I would guess I continued 25 times.  With every continue I gripped the controller a little tighter and had to take a deep breath.

The game is broken into 7 levels.  At the start you can choose one of 3 levels, once you beat all of them you get to choose from 3 more levels and then finally you get to choose the final level, Metal Beak’s hideout.

The first 3 levels took me longer to beat than the other 4 levels combined as it took a while to get the hang of the controls.  The final level wasn’t as difficult as I expected but for some reason about 5 or 6 times I died right at the door to the final boss.

I didn’t love the game but I think maybe I would have if I had grown up playing it or had some background experience with Darkwing Duck.  It is definitely worth playing if you are a fan of Duck Tales or Mega Man.

Darkwing Duck

Leave a Reply

