Bugs Bunny Birthday Blowout

FullFullemptyemptyemptyemptyemptyempty

Genre: Platform

Publisher: Kemco

Total time played: 1.5 Hours

Short review:  Avery easy epileptic seizure inducing platformer featuring really rough versions of your favorite Looney Tunes characters.


Interesting links related to Bugs Bunny Birthday Blowout


I played this game when I was a kid and only remembered 2 things about it: when I beat it I had a lot of extra lives to spare and it gave me a headache.  Since I beat the game I have only thought about it when remembering the Angry Video Game Nerd episode reviewing the game which is one of the funniest episodes.

When I beat the game I had 47 extra lives and that was after dying probably 30 times throughout the game.  I luckily didn’t get a headache but complained the entire time about how jerky the image was when Bugs moved across the screen.  It is hard to explain, you just need to watch a video of game footage to see what I’m talking about.

The game features 6 levels and 4 stages per level.  There was no difference in game play or enemies between the stages even though the backgrounds all looked different.  In each level you walked from left to right and at the end would go down a “rabbit hole” which was sometimes a barrel, sometimes a tree stump and sometimes a rabbit hole.  You would then fight a boss at the end of each stage.  Daffy duck was at the end of stage 1 in each level.  All he does it walk back and forth; jump over him to get the giant carrot and you win.  All of the big named characters were featured, Tweety, Elmer Fudd, Sylvester.  The final boss was Taz who threw footballs at you that you would just hit with your giant mallet to shoot them back at him.  You know, since Taz was such a huge football fan in the Looney Tunes cartoons.

The game took about 90 minutes to beat but would have probably taken only 60-65 minutes if I wasn’t forced to play a bonus stage after ever single level.  It is similar to the pizza mini game in Yo Noid! or the slot machine in Super Mario 2.  It made no sense, I just tapped A and if I got 3 numbers in a row I got an extra life, if I got 4 numbers in a row I got 5 extra lives.

78521-the-bugs-bunny-birthday-blowout-nes-screenshot-some-odd-bonus

Bonus Stage

The game offered no challenge other than not turning it off before the end because of boredom or headaches due to the jerky image.  It was a chore to play but I felt since it was so easy I had to keep going.  But,  I beat it and never have to play it again.

Note: based on the way the screen flashes and jerks in this game I think I know now why the Kemco point and click adventures feature only still images.  If Shadowgate, Deja Vu and The Uninvited had the same jerky visuals as this game I would doubt I would have such fond memories of those games.

Leave a Reply

