Monster In My Pocket

FullFullFullFullFullFullemptyempty

Genre: Action

Publisher: Konami

Total time played: 1.5 Hours

Short review:  A very fun yet simple action platformer that plays like Chip N Dale Rescue Rangers.


Interesting links related to Monster In My Pocket


I have always thought of myself as a Capcom guy for NES due to classics such as the Mega Man series, the Disney games, Bionic Commando, 1943, Gun.Smoke and Little Nemo the Dream Master but I am having to reconsider as Konami makes so many classic games including Castlevania, Contra, Super C, Jackal, Bucky O’Hare, Life Force, Tiny Toons and TMNT 3.  It really is a toss up for which publisher released better games.

I had never played this game before and am not that familiar with the cartoon.  My brother had some of the action figures when we were younger but I never got into it.  This game is great and I’m sorry I waited until I was in my 30’s to play it.  The gameplay is very simple, A jumps, B uses your attack.  It took me a few minutes to discover that pressing A twice in a row does a double jump which adds quite a bit of enhancement as the double jump is used a lot.

The game is very similar to Chip N Dale: Rescue Rangers and you play as a very small creature and the backgrounds are made up of household items.  I would venture to say that this game would have been one of my favorites of all time had I played it as a child.  What could be better than a fun a fast paced game with monsters and killer music?

gfs_39740_2_3 Monster-in-My-Pocket-U-201208261921292

         Chip N’ Dale in the Kitchen                                       Monster In My Pocket in the Kitchen

You play as a Vampire or a Frankenstein, both of which have the same jumping and attack ability, the only difference being the way they look.  I played first as Frankenstein and got to the final boss on my first try.  After dying I tried again as the Vampire and beat the game.  The game also features two player co-op mode which I am excited to try out soon.

The graphics in the game are great and the animation of the playable characters is the most fluid I can remember on the entire NES system.  But, for me, the sound is what really shines in Monster in my Pocket.  Every level has its own theme and all of them are top notch, I would go as far as saying that they are on par with the songs in the Castlevania series.

Monster in my Pocket is a very short game, taking around 20-25 minutes to beat but it is fun from beginning to end and not too challenging, I highly recommend playing this one.

Leave a Reply

