Mega Man

FullFullFullFullFullHalfemptyempty

Genre: Platform

Developer: Capcom

Total time played: 3 Hours

Short review: The Mega Man series is my favorite game series on the NES.  Mega Man is not the strongest of the 6 NES Mega Man games but it provided a great launching point to propel parts 2 and 3 to 2 of the best games on the system.


Interesting links related to Mega Man


I don’t know why I rented Mega Man for the first time, it definitely wasn’t because of the box art.  The front of the box makes Mega Man look like a scared man in a goofy costume, not a powerful robot.  This was one of the first games that I obsessed over.  I played over and over renting the game several times trying to get to the end.  As a kid I never could beat Gutsman’s level, those dropping platforms got me every time.

I have a distinct memory of playing the telephone game with my mom, aunt, grandmother and cousins and when it was my turn to start the game by coming up with a sentence I said “gutsman”.  My mom had to explain that I needed to say more than one word and that it should be a real word.

It wasn’t until 2010 that I finally beat Gutsman and was able to finish the entire game.  I took a picture when I beat the game but it was lost when my laptop was stolen.  The hardest part of the game for me is the Yellow Cyclops monster in Wily’s castle.  Although I can beat the game at any time I never can breeze through it.  I know the game inside and out but that doesn’t mean it is easy.  To me, the original Mega Man is the hardest in the series.  If you only play one Mega Man game make it part 2 but I have a feeling that after you play it you will want to explore the rest of the series.  To me this is the 3rd best game in the series behind part 2 and 3.

13 thoughts on “Mega Man

Leave a Reply

